I organise virtual music festivals. AMA

My name is Max Schramp. I’m an architecture student from Canada, moonlighting as a musician, designer photographer, and most importantly, I am part of the virtual events company Open Pit. We’ve been organizing virtual events in the game Minecraft since mid-2018. Our larger festivals had over 80 acts and the audiences reached into the hundreds of thousands with coverage from Vice, Washington Post, and the New York Times. Find out more here: https://openpit.net

I’ll be here to answer your questions live on 2020-05-12T15:00:00Z2020-05-12T16:00:00Z

You’ll need to sign up to the forum to take part.

Once you have signed up, feel free to add this to your calendar by clicking the three dots above.

Talk soon!

Thanks for the AMA Max! Our question - how complicated is it for an amateur to set up a festival in Minecraft?

How easy is it convincing people to go to Minecraft to access the festival? And how easy is it to set yourself up to attend if you’ve never used Minecraft before?

As a DJ/artist, what is the technical aspect of getting my music to play through Minecraft? Does your team take care of all of that?

Hi Max,
That sounds so interesting!
Was there a reason for choosing Minecraft as the platform?
Thanks
Rose

Hi Max,

Thanks so much for taking the time to answer a couple of questions!

What advice would you give to someone organising a virtual event for the first time?

Welcome everybody to this AMA! Max is here and ready to answer questions so please keep them coming…

It’s not actually as complicated as you would think. The minimum requirements are being able to play minecraft (build a world) and book the artists. It gets more complicated as the audience scales, because Minecraft doesn’t support more than ~200 consecutive players out of the box. For perspective, we started doing these events with no formal event planning experience beyond DIY house shows.

1 Like