I'm a sustainability consultant for the events industry. AMA

Hi, I’m Karen and I founded the Global Good Awards in 2015 which has now become one of the leading global sustainability awards; and the only one that is truly run sustainably.

I have since set up a sustainable events consultancy service to help other awards, festival and event organisers to make fast positive change for the benefit of people and planet.

I’m also a member of the Independent Awards Standards Council where I act as an assessor for the Awards Trust Mark; an accreditation scheme to enhance trust between those entering awards schemes, and the organisations running them.

I live on the south coast and in my spare time, I walk on the South Downs, kayak and sea swim (even in mid winter!).

We are so excited to have @KarenSuttonECO join us this afternoon for a chat about her work as a sustainability consultant.

To kick things off, here are a couple of questions for you:

• How did you get into becoming a sustainability consultant for the events industry?
  • What are the main things that should be considered throughout the process of planning a sustainable events?

Hi all,
I started off by launching the Global Good Awards 8 years ago and then realised how hardly any events were sustainable. We were the only ones serving sustainable menus, calculating the impact of our delegates etc.

1 Like

Venue, travel, food and event materials are probably the key considerations and the easiest to make big changes to.

1 Like

Hi Karen,

Thanks for being here today!
When I first started looking into sustainability and alternatives, I found out that there was so much more to it than I initially thought. Have there been clients who didn’t quite realise how much goes into sustainable event planning and are maybe a little intimidated once they did?

Thank you!