I'm an expert on sustainable materials and packaging. AMA

Hello I am Dr Rose Deakin!

I am passionate about all things sustainability but in particular materials and permaculture. I have a PhD in Sustainable Material Selection and previously studied Industrial Design and Technology. I have been studying and working in the sustainability field for over 12 years.

Since 2016 I have been running The Crop Club, a social enterprise which helps people grow food in small spaces and encourages sustainable living. We make eco growing kits for homes and communities and eco promotional gifts for businesses and charities. Our core mission is to reconnect people with nature, food and each other through the joy of growing food.

Hi Rose,

Thank you so much for doing this AMA!
To kick things off, here are a couple of questions for you:

• What sustainable packaging and materials are already out there?
  • How else can they be improved?

Hi Karla,
Wow, that first question is huge!
Some of theattributes to look for in a sustainable material are attributes like location (raw material/manufacturing), transport, material source (renewable/recycled content) and end of life/circularity is it recyclable/compostable/reusable.

There are some wonderful examples of sustainable materials but it is hard to just say a material is sustainable. Take wood for example, often considered sustainable but if the first isn’t managed sustainably and the wood is transported a long way it may not be considered sustainable.

Sustainable packaging has come a long way in recent years, there are some great examples using leaves, bagasse but again these are not manufactured in the UK. There is work to get more hemp based products in the UK but this will take time.

Improvements could be simplified supply chains and more transparency on materials and where they are made and how they are sourced.

1 Like

Thank you!

You mentioned that improvements could be more transparency.